Reunions, concerts, and, yep, another race

I can already tell the second half of the summer is going to be over before I know it. Between Ironman training, helping to organize the Garden City Triathlon, 40 hours a week at the bike shop, and finding time for everyday life, free time is hard to come by these days.

I found time the other weekend to make my way back to Colville for my ten year high school reunion, and I was very glad I went. It was amazing to see so many people from the old days, and really, the class of 2004 hasn’t changed that much. People have careers, families, etc, but deep down they’re all the same people I remember seeing essentially every day for 12 years.

View More: http://kimberleyladukephotography.pass.us/class-of-2014
Just look at that fine group of people, all out in the world achieving their dreams and stuff! Photo by Kimberley LaDuke Photography

So anyway, that was a blast, and I even got to go ride bikes with Colin McGrane. Who knew that ol’ dog would get into cycling!

So then after that, Kailee and I went to go see a concert. Some British guy, I think his name was Paul something. Regardless, he played a great show for the 25,000 of us the crammed into the Griz football stadium.

McCartney
He used to be in a band. They were pretty obscure, you’ve probably never heard of them.

Oh yeah, and then I did a triathlon. I do those sometimes.

The Bitterroot Classic was a full-on training race for me this year. Hamilton, being 50 miles south of Missoula, is the perfect distance away to make an excuse for a great Ironman training day. On top of that, the race is an afternoon start. I left the house at 7:00 in the morning, met up with a few friends, and rode to the start.

During the race, I will say that I didn’t feel the pep that I would normally prefer to have for a sprint triathlon, but well, that’s what you sacrifice when you start training for longer distances. I was still able to pull through for second place overall behind the one and only Matt Seeley, who effortlessly gapped me on the swim and never looked back. I think he’s been spending some time in that fancy new pool they have up in Polson. Or, at least, more time than I’ve been spending in the Grizzly pool, which is admittedly not enough. But it’s just so nice outside, and riding bikes is so much fun.

The Bitterroot was also a great day for Team Stampede. We took 2nd, 3rd, 7th, and 8th in the men’s race, and Shelly Pedersen pulled off seventh overall in the women’s field, winning her age group. Meanwhile, the Stampede ladies represented well at the Coeur d’Alene Triathlon; Pam Estill won her age group, Shanna Stack was third, and Debbie Smith was third in the Athena category. Go team!

After the race, the ride home was a bit more up-tempo than the ride down. It was good to get some miles in the legs, and a huge thanks to Ali Bronsdon for riding all the way there and all the way back with me. Last year, I did the ride home all alone, and I’ll definitely say it felt a lot shorter this year.

Three days till the Polson Triathlon, then finishing the necessary work that needs to be done for Garden City on September 6th!

Leave a Reply

