A little spring update

It’s that exciting time of year again! It’s time for me to trade in my winter-time persona of the mild-mannered office supply salesman and transition into more triathlon training, selling bikes, and being generally immersed in what, to me, has really become the essence of summer in Missoula; namely, playing outside in the sunshine. Unfortunately, that sunshine, or at least the warmth that comes with it, has decided to take a little bit of extra time showing up, and my employment at the bike shop is partially dependent on the cooperation of the weather, so, since I went ahead and quit working my winter job, I am finding myself with a week of not working at all. I’m not used to this. It’s weird. It’s also kind of awesome.

It means I get to do a whole lot less of this:

There are mysteriously no pictures of me being the mild-mannered office supply salesman, so I figured Dwight would suffice.
There are mysteriously no pictures of me being the mild-mannered office supply salesman, so I figured Dwight would suffice.

…and a whole lot more of this:

Montana is awesome! Photo courtesy of Steve Pulito.
Montana is awesome! Photo courtesy of Steve Pulito.

That’s a good thing.

Staples, the ever-so-accommodating company that provides me with seasonal employment when I am laid off at the bike shop, recently changed their company slogan from “That was easy” to “Make more happen”. The part of me with a philosophical bent has a propensity towards over-analyzing everything, and it doesn’t take much to apply this change to my life as it currently stands. With this week off of work as a driving force, I have made the decision to leave “That was easy” behind. I rarely expect things to be easy, and this season, I am taking my training to the next level, making more happen, if you will.

With this in mind, I am happy to report that my fitness is coming along splendidly, and I am giddy with excitement about the upcoming season. I will be on the bike every day this week and plan to put in 26 hours of good, solid training. I am looking at a trajectory that puts me in perfect position to perform to the best of my abilities for my headlining early-season race, the Wildflower Long Course Triathlon on May 3rd.

In other news, I have taken the reins of Team Stampede, the once-mighty club triathlon team from Missoula that has started to fizzle due to lack of leadership in the last few years. Check out our brand spankin’ new website and keep an eye out for the orange and blue representing Missoula at the races this season!

Exactly one month until the Montana World Championships! I hope everyone’s getting ready.

Until next time, get out and enjoy the weather!

Leave a Reply

